Sharp-eyed Piwakawaka

A full day, in which much was achieved; but not completion of the Guardian Prize Cryptic. I paused after finishing breakfast, as it was time to head to Warkworth for groceries. As I left with my purchases I passed a young woman playing cool jazz on her saxophone next to a sign saying that all proceeds were going to the Foodbank project. As well as dropping a little in her saxophone case, I took a photo, but cannot load that as an extra for some reason. (I might try again later).

Back at Fidelis, I sorted out the bills and payments and found I wasn't too far behind with them despite nearly four weeks of my system being in limbo. The tide was coming in fast so I went for a run (and walk)(and stopping for photos) from Southend along the length of Fidelis Beach, around to Algies and then up to Highfield Garden Reserve, which is where I was entertained by a dancing Piwakawaka (fantail).

Long enough to get a number of photos of the fan fully out. Unfortunately my focussing left something a lot to be desired, so I chose to blip a side on shot where the tail fanning is suggested rather than shown. Then up the path through the donkey field before back on the track where I managed to run up the last 40 or 50 steps.

I've added a photo of a Tuturiwhatu (dotterel) on rocks poking right out into the bay from the point. Odd to see a wader standing on rocks above quite deep water, even at low tide. It allowed me to get within a few metres to get a good photo.

After lunch (when I was unable to complete the Prize cryptic) I went to the lowest part of the terraced bank and removed the rampant ground cover which was threatening to choke the plants we have there.

I will try and finish the crossword this evening

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.