pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Treats for my feets

A late night begat a late start which meant breakfast in bed and watching the rain come down in relative comfort.

Would quite happily have stayed there all day, but with my foot seemingly healed up with no ill-effects from yesterday’s run, I was determined to get to the running shop and update my trainers.

The foetus who served me, tentatively handled my feet and examined my current running shoes before making his recommendation. They were OK, but I was looking for something that made me feel like I was running on clouds, not the canal path towards the tip. Thus he produced the Hoka OneOne’s and like the Prince slipping the glass slipper onto Cinderella’s foot, I knew it was meant to be and that this boy-child would take a lot of money from me for these new trainers who would be with me for the next 350 to 500 miles. It’s a tale as old as time…

Also found time to watch the utterly charming 18-year old; Emma Raducanu, win her third round tie to make it into the second week of Wimbledon. It was so nice and refreshing to see someone clearly just enjoying the occasion and savouring every moment. She was thoroughly deserving of her win.

For the remainder of the day, I was once again joined by Gucci whilst the parents were off watching In The Heights, so we watched a bit more Wimbledon (complete with Federer’s continuing defiance of the ageing process), had a nice walk and dozed intermittently before the England game were they cantered to an easy four-nil win.

It is hard to see how England will ever have a better chance of winning the Euros - just the Danes to get past next……

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.