pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Day of rest (sort of)

My Sunday mornings without the children have become quite precious to me.

I am able to awake and arise as and when my body dictates. I can have the first brew of the day set against the backdrop of Classic FM (volume two, Alexa) and I can enjoy taking my time and catching up with my co-blippers, whilst thinking about what to do with the rest of the day. A lot of the time, the answer is in the question: rest for the day. 

Sometimes, I feel a little anxious about this, like I should be doing more with the day, but equally I know from a mental health pov, I need to look after myself so I’m in a good place for the week ahead - particularly when it is one where I have the children more. I feel I struck a good balance today though with a run to break in the new kicks (which were totally awesome) followed by brunch for one, an okay-ish Chris Pratt film, and a trip to the cinema for the enjoyable In The Heights, which drew some tears, but in the best possible way.

Re-read the children’s school reports which I received yesterday and they are both doing really well. I was particularly touched to see that President Teddy had mentioned and “officially” sanctioned as a method of bringing The Youngest out of herself. I’m so proud of them for getting through a very difficult period in their lives and hope that when the new school year begins in September (fingers crossed with no more covid considerations), they are able to kick on from there. In the meantime, with the school hols just around the corner, I’m hoping I can play my part in giving them a great summer, which will hopefully be assisted by the booking of a holiday for the last week in August.

Whilst it was tempting to look at the pricing for the following week, in a cunning sob-prevention ploy, I resisted the temptation and a brilliant weekend remained intact.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.