OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

At Straenia Water

I took the ferry over to Stronsay and cycled around. It stayed foggy all day, so no sea-views, but I was always looking for fog-worthy shots. This one doesn't really show that, though! I cycled up to Rothiesholm, left the bike and did a 7km walk around the head. I had not been there before and headed first for this loch. Crossing a featureless moor in the fog is quite disorientating and hard work, partly because you can't really mark your progress. But I got to the loch pretty dead-on. There was a red-throated diver there, so I had to be careful I didn't stumble on its nest-site. Bonxies and ravens too. I  walked along the ayre between the loch and the sea and onto the cliffs around Rothiesholm Head, past The Coorsa, Both Hellia, The Castle, down on to Greenli Ness, where over forty grey seals were singing in the fog, and along to Loop of Geoholdis, where I was glad to join a track that took me up Sly Hill and saved me the effort of crossing the heathery moor again. The moor to the north of the track is called The Ignatus! I wonder why.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.