Clouds and Polarize

With the weather today it just had to be another cloud shot, and while I was at it another play with my PL filter.  I have never been that impressed with the amount of polarization I was getting, so I tried all manner of shots, including holding a small PL filter from my video camera in front, with no improvement.  (That could make a good fun shot sometime.)
 
Then Mrs W gave a chance remark “It’s not the camera correcting for the exposure is it?”  Doh - well thought Mrs W.
 
Camera switched to manual and bingo.  Of course P, Tv and Av settings all compensate for light and colour balance, negating most of what the filter was trying to achieve.
 
I’m somewhat pleased with this shot, especially the white cloud centre on the horizon.  That’s Grantham.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.