An American Celebration

To all my American friends and family - Happy 4th of July!

I left on my next camping adventure this morning. Not a new destination - I’m back in Bristol again - just because I love this site. Sadly, it’s closing down in September after operating as a campsite since just after the war. The land is council owned and it’s been sold to a developer who is going to build flats. Very sad for those who like to stay here but maybe the homes are much needed. I plan to visit here a few times this summer before it closes down. There’s lots I still want to see in Bristol - it’s an interesting place!

It rained a lot this afternoon after I arrived and I was tired, so I decided to put down my bed and I promptly fell asleep for two hours! That felt good!

The sun came out although it’s windy and a bit chilly. I decided to have dinner at the pub next door and since it’s the 4th of July I ordered very traditional American food - a big burger and fries and a Stateside IPA. THAT was probably the best burger I’ve ever had outside of the USA!  Delicious!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.