Brunel’s Buttery - Bristol

The last time I was in Bristol I bought a book - ‘111 Places In Bristol That You Shouldn’t Miss’. Brunel’s Buttery is No. 26. I’ve been wanting to try it anyway so today was the day as I passed by on a long walk around the harbour. The monster sausage and egg sandwich was delicious. The seagull might look as if he was looking the other way but he definitely had his eye on me!

A few years ago it was reported that this cafe had been turned into a Costa coffee, along with (photoshopped) photos. There was outrage in the community until they realised the date - April 1st!

It was a grey day but not cold. Bristol is quiet on Mondays I think, because many of the museums are closed. Even though grey and a little gloomy I saw lots to take pictures of - see a few more as my Extra photo.

Top left - one of my favourite boats with beautiful flowers and if you look carefully, a large collection of rubber ducks!
Top right - the Fairbairn steam crane still remaining from when Bristol was a major port
Middle left - under lock and key on Pero’s pedestrian bridge
Middle right - narrowboats at Brunel Quay
Bottom left - the Bristol Cross-harbour ferry shuttling passengers between Brunel Quay and the Brunel’s SS Great Britain on Spike Island. The boat was designed by a very young Dyson of Dyson vacuum cleaner’s fame - when he was still a student at the Royal College of art.
Bottom right - boats and SUPs at Bristol Harbour. You can see the tops of the motorhomes at the campsite where I’m staying, and the Cottage pub from yesterday’s blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.