Alum

I've been looking at two potential places to live today. Probably none of them will happen. The first one, that I really would like, is going to be too expensive I think, I will check with the bank tomorrow.
The other one, a three room apartment, is on the southern tip of the island and is for rent. That is also too expensive and is 40 km south from where I live right now, not very practical for me.

It's an interesting place though. One of the best finds of Alun in scandinavia is found here. In 1723 a quarry was started and in 1820 over 300 people worked here. The work was extremely hard, one third of the workforce  consisted of boys and girls under the age of 12. Alum goes through a complicated process before ending up as crystals used in the tanning industry and was exported to the countries around the baltic sea and Russia. The quarries are no longer in use since cheaper, chemical processes has made Alum quarrying no longer profitable. The workers houses are now rented out or sold. 
The extra shows some of the enormous waste heaps left in the production of Alum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.