Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Shaking It Out

Leaping vertically upwards with a couple of brisk wing flaps - this Little Egret was sorted! Drying out nicely.

Having battled all week through the traffic heading for Cheltenham races and been buzzed by low flying helicopters also heading in that direction, the roads and air space were relatively quiet for a Saturday. However rain and wind had been forecast and the weathermen would not have been disappointed with their prediction. Dilema - where to go that was dry and what to blip.

Heading off, I thought to be undercover was my best option and decided to poke my lens out of a Hide window after braving the rain to get there and dry off. Luckily, very luckily for me, a Little Egret bombed past the window and landed a few Hides further up the estuary. Shooting quickly up there, I found it had been having a quick bath (rather like me at this stage), and was doing a spot of preening. Nothing like a good shake to get the water out of the old feathers! This shot threw me a bit as I wasn't expecting him to jump let alone leap so high - quite impressive to watch. I, in turn, just dripped onto the floor.

Back home to watch a bit of rugby which isn't going our way at the moment then taking food round to some friends for an evening in front of their fire!

Have a good weekend everyone:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.