Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Flower Power

The first Spangled Fritillary I've seen this summer!  Their numbers seem to be declining here over the last few years which is sad to see.  Used to be when my echinacea bloomed there would be a half dozen or so at any time - now, just this one.  But, still a lovely thing to see and a nice way to start the day.  And thanks to Laurie54 for providing the "flower power" theme for Mono Monday today.  I think this kind of fits as there is a certain 60-ish vibe to the flower as well as the flyer's design.

Had a nice long chat with my parents today.  Both are doing well although Dad lost his footing while they were out walking yesterday and now has some holes in his knees.  These are the times when I really hate being 3000 miles away.

After talking to my parents, I took the kayak out for a short paddle (just an hour).  It was lovely out - and there were several other kayakers, some fishermen and a couple of stand-up paddleboarders on the lake with me.  Big lake, so no problems.  I went full steam across the lake, pushing myself, and then puddled back, stopping here and there.  My second mono choice for the day is in Extra, taken from the kayak.

We had a little excitement yesterday afternoon when a female downy woodpecker zipped into the garage while hubs was working on the camaro.  And then we couldn't get her out.  At dusk, I called my friend who does avian rescue to get some advice.  The decision to close up the garage and let her roost in there for the night.  Hubs went out when he got up this morning and opened both garage doors. Although he didn't see her, a few hours later she was definitely gone.  So, a story that ended well.

And at breakfast this morning we saw our resident fox come very close to grabbing a squirrel.  The squirrel shot up into our little weeping cherry tree and the fox stayed underneath for quite a while before trotting off.  The fox is looking very much at home on the patio so I suspect he's out there more often than we know.  

Lots of people nearby setting off fireworks last night which made the cats a little jumpy.  Phoebe isn't usually bothered by noises but Charlie gets easily spooked and then Phoebe joins him.  

The fatigue doesn't seem quite as bad today.  So maybe...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.