Playing- thinking of images as sketchbook ideas

I know that I like `playing’ with ideas and image making and often I get bored with the idea and move onto something new (maybe because I don’t know how to resolve a visual problem), but in my head I’m still working through this one.  The ideas are growing out of the West Yorkshire Print zoom workshop that I was involved in at the weekend.  I began with lots of printed images that were mainly taken from my in-camera multi-exposure explorations of `paper’.  On the Saturday morning, before the zoom session began I found a print in a folder of an image I’d taken at The Hepworth Gallery some years ago, so it started me thinking about the collection of images I've been putting together around the theme of `People and Galleries'.  Out of these starting points came an idea that I could use the `multi-exposure paper’ images as the artwork in my composite image and in some way I could then link them to actual photographs of people in a gallery setting or in the case of YSP in an outdoor setting.  It’s quite a challenge for me to work from something as abstract as the original photos of shape and patterns and in the end it might not come off but it’s giving me something different to wrestle with.

Many thanks to 60plus for allowing me to share my photo of her.  The image was taken several years ago at the Yorkshire Sculpture Park (YSP).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.