Tice's Meadow

As you speed down the A31 just outside Farnham, Surrey you can see an area of open water,  part of an old quarry, however I could not find out if it was accessible.  Eventually, I found the information for Tice's Meadow nature reserve and today investigated.

I was a little disappointed that the lakes and ponds were largely fenced off for conservation purposes (and presumably safety as old quarry workings are not the safest places to allow people free access to). However, I had a nice, if muddy, walk round and even saw what I believe was a kestral hunting ... but it was too far away for identification and photographing.

My image is a 6-stack merged shot over one of the ponds. I was trying out a technique for simulating long exposures in photoshop, but it hasn't really worked here as the clouds weren't moving and there were limited reflective opportunities in the water.  However, I do like the soft movement in the trees it has given.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.