Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Red and white

What a day of contrasts ... this morning I watched a flock of American Robins on the front lawn, hunting worms. And this afternoon we've got about an inch of wet, white snow on the ground.

I had every intention of blipping a beautiful robin with a drop of water on his chin - the first robin I've seen at the bird bath in months. But then the snow started falling and I was mesmerized watching things come and go at the feeders.

Seymour came to snatch some acorns

and the juncos were enjoying the snow

But then one of the cardinals perched right outside the window and he was just so achingly beautiful against the snowy background. As soon as I saw this shot, I knew this was the one. Perhaps not the best shot of the day, but the one that touched me. This is cropped, but not fiddled with in any other way.

We're having friends over tonight for an early St. Paddy's dinner of corned beef, potatoes, carrots ... and sauteed shredded Brussels sprouts (with some pepper-cured bacon!) And some adult beverages, natch!

Thank you for sending my gerbera yesterday to the Spotlight. I hope today's splash of red is a good follow up...

Happy St. Patrick's Day!

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.