Chris_P

By Chris_P

‘Old Moorland Signpost with Menacing Sky’

After our weekend in Abbey St Bathans, we decided to take the route back home over the Lammermuir Hills, visiting Duns and Longformacus on the way.

Only 25 miles or so from Edinburgh, the countryside here is wild and bleak moorland, populated with sheep. 

I often used to go to the Lammermuirs as a child, but have been only few times since; I don’t think I’d been up there for over 30 years.

But this lonely old, rather weather-beaten, signpost I remembered instantly. So we stopped to have a closer look. 

It reminds me of the signposts of my childhood - a time before the standardised road signs brought in with the motorway age!

Though more rain was threatening (it came a few minutes later), you can still see the moor trailing off before descending into the rich East Lothian farmland and the sea beyond.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.