Come Back and Finish What You Started

These wardrobes were built by me and a friend about 17 years ago. In anticipation of the new fitted wardrobe going in, I started dismantling, only to receive a phone call from the joiner half way through telling me to hold fire as - contrary to what we were told on Friday - Howdens did NOT have all the panels and doors we needed in stock and would not have them in for another ten days. So that bit of the work is currently on hold.
Managed - at last - to contact the electrician. Told me he was very busy due to being short handed because staff either have covid or are isolating because someone close to them has it! I have a vague promise that he will call in sometime this week and, at the very least, take off some sockets that need to be temporarily removed before the plastering can be done. So that’s the plastering on hold for a while.
The joiner has measured up for the unit we are having in the lounge and has disappeared to his shop to build it. He has promised to return to fit it later this week, but he also let slip that he has another job on the go. I now worry that we have slipped down the pecking order and may not see him again for some time! Still, we do now have all the new internal doors fitted, with handles and everything!
And I am dismantling the old wardrobe carefully because some parts of it will be recycled into the new one. Not sure if that means I can claim I “helped build” the new wardrobe though!
Having waited three years for these works to commence, a few more days delay isn’t really that bad. As long as the various tradespeople do, indeed, come back and finish what they have started!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.