Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

It’s back!

An early gym session for JR, a big long walk (with Robert) for Archie, and three sessions of HIIT for me. When I’m on the bike, I do feel feel that my legs are getting stronger, but this is not translating into being able to walk further.

JR wanted a new pair of jeans taken up properly, so we all walked down to Tolcross in the afternoon. On the way, we passed the now closed ‘Apartment’, but I read that it has been taken over by ‘Hendersons (no apostrophe)’ - an iconic Edinburgh vegetarian cafe which opened in 1962 and was a ‘destination’ when I visited the Big City as a student and young teacher in the early 70s. It sadly closed during the first lockdown, but good news - it’s reopening. AND it’s much nearer us.

I decided yesterday to cancel my order of the ebike and ‘swinging wheels’. I have been waiting for them for six months, but have now decided that it wouldn’t really be such a good idea going forward (hate that expression). JR also admitted that she’s not that keen on cycling - she’d rather walk for exercise. So, the right decision, eventually..

I watched the women’s tennis quarter finals in the afternoon. As often happens, the games were a bit of an anticlimax - two set (not three set) matches, with much harder-fought games occurring last week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.