Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Money’s worth!

No bike, no exercises.

I had to pop up to the surgery to get some cream for an annoying itch - it seems I have developed a little patch of eczema. I came home with a large parcel of tubes of creams, a big tub of ointment, a huge container of moisturiser and special shower gel. I really do get my money’s worth from the NHS!

But we did go for a walk (8,333 steps), round by Body Street, which opens again next week (I’m working up to it) and to see if our favourite wee cafe had opened. No, because it doesn’t really have any pavement space.

We weren’t tempted by any of the takeaway coffees in Bruntsfield, but JR got a loaf of sourdough, which Archie is having a good old sniff at here. He LOVES bread, and usually gets a tiny wee bit. The others went a longer route home, but I plodded home via the shortest route. I felt really tired. After my fairly speedy walk yesterday, I was really slow today.

I started my new book in the afternoon - The Secret Life of Cows, by Rosamund Young. I was tempted by the blurb, who wouldn’t be?
 
Although much of a cow’s day is spent eating, they always find time for extracurricular activities, such as babysitting, playing hide and seek, blackberry picking or fighting a tree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.