Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Big Walk

Bike + exercises. But mainly - loads of walking! (13,137 steps, 9.6km!!)

Robert took Archie out for a couple of hours, and JR went to Waitrose for the second time. She loves it there. Not busy, but not everybody wearing masks, as they are supposed to. Tut tut...

I wanted to get some photos printed in Boots, so we walked down town. We sat on the usual bench on the Mound for a while. I spotted the remote grass cutter again across the road, and sure enough, Archie spotted it too, and started to bark at it, much to the amusement of passers by.

We had our Prêt £1 coffees, while gazing at the beautiful grassy, East Princes Street Gardens. For several months, this has been a huge big muddy quagmire. In this shot, Archie is keeping a look out for JR coming back with the coffees.

I wanted to go to Boots, so JR and Archie wandered off home. But the photo printing wasn’t working - they can’t get any photo paper. The chap told the people waiting to try the Boots on the Bridges. At first dismissed the idea, then decided that I might as well go there. I walked up Cockburn Street, puffing all the way (it’s steep) only to find that Boots wasn’t open. Grrr.

I then took a notion to walk home, despite my bus arriving in 5 minutes. I am really taking this dieting seriously! I haven’t walked into town - let alone walked back again - since I got my bus pass many years ago. It has become quite regular in the lockdown. 

I passed a cafe which has a rather neat wee idea for social distancing. And for Scottish summers. (Extra).

A sit down in the Meadows, litter free at the moment, but probably not by the end of this evening. The disgusting litter after every nice evening has been left by young folk - the ones who are so keen to ‘save the planet’. Why don’t they start in their own back yard?

Arrived home, completely puggled, to find a big bag of fresh peas, which had been left at the door by Rufus and his mum! Perfect.

PS You can see the few pathetic little trees that they replaced the 50 mature trees with. I kid you not!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.