Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Busy day!

I got a LOT done today! After the bike and my exercises, I drove to a large supermarket where I knew I could print off photos. A fantastic machine, using wifi, pressed a few buttons and Bingo! Prints pop out. The Portuguese family from upstairs are returning home soon, so I have done a wee bunch of photos of the wee girls playing with Archie in the back green. Just to remind them of their time in Edinburgh.

Then I wanted to go back to a wee shop I visited yesterday, when I purchased the wrong thing in haste. I needed to pop back and swap it. And so we all set off, walking, down the Royal Mile, then nipping down a ‘close’ with hundreds of steps, to reach Cockburn Street. We discovered a new close - well, new to us. There was a plaque saying that John Knox had lived there (or in the house that was there hundreds of years ago) for a few years. You always find something new when wandering around the city.

We stopped for a coffee at the groovy wee cafe (Extra). I had to give contact details, as we sat outside to drink them. And a very good coffee it was too. JR had a peanut buttery ‘cookie’. I did not.

Just as well COVID-19 isn’t rampant still. I’m a bit forgetful about social distancing. I shook hands with the new owner of the newly refurbished local chippie, who forgot too, and then sprayed me with hand sanitiser, so all was well. And a man was taking a photo of Greyfriar’s Bobby statue. I asked if he’d like me to take a photo (on his phone) of him in front of the statue, as is my wont. JR suddenly screeched and flapped her arms at him, ‘NO! SHE’S NOT ALLOWED!’ 

Poor man, he may have a been a foreigner, he was too scared to speak. He got such a fright and probably didn’t know why he was being accosted and yelled at by a couple of old biddies.

A very slow walk home. (11,745 steps). I was well and truly puggled. But I haven’t been lured on to a bus for quite a while. I have lost weight. The sum total of 1kg. In 10 days! Not much good, really, for all that effort. But I’ll keep going.

Mrs America on tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.