Hurricane Elsa Preparations...

Tonight and tomorrow we are expecting Hurricane Elsa to come through Ocala, where I live.   There will be a lot of rain with possible flooding.  We also are expecting Possible tornados,  and winds from 30 to 90 MPH..
      Today I took in my flag, tied town my glider on the front porch, took in the cushions and moved my tea cart to where it could be tied down, as well.  Then I went out back and brought all of my bonsai in where they can't be blown all around.  Other fences for my girls were tied down so they can go outside to do their business, as they need.  The back porch is protected by a roof high, cement block wall that comes out  for 8 feet.  That should break the brunt of the high force winds.
     After all that I went to get a gallon of ice tea from McAllisters.  That will make tomorrow comfortable.  There are 3 gallon jugs for extra water as needed, a few groceries to get through the next day or 2  I did fill my gas tank, get a bike ride in, check out my camping stove in the event we loose power for while.
     We aren't forecast to have a difficult time.   But I have lived through enough of these hurricanes not to take anything for granted
     I did notice, when I was out, that the construction sites alll around are batening down all of the equipment, building supplies, and materials.   I also saw OTOW move some of their tree cutting equipment out and around the  areas.  We have a huge number of trees here, that potentially could blow down and block roads.   By getting them out and about the crews will be able to get a head start on clean up, in the event of downed trees.   This will be the first hurricane I have ridden through here at the villa.  I am not particularly concerned as I live in a concrete block villa, attached to other villas in a row.   If we loose power for any length of time, there are generators all over that will kick in and continue the sewage operations and   water operations from our water supplier.  Both sewage and water are independent of the city of Ocala.
    I am expecting things to be be a lot easier than the last hurricane I rode through, Hurricane Irma.   Happy News Watching!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.