Woman Walking

By njoyce06

Barbados Cherry

Todays Blip is one of my bonsai, that I have been growing for 4 or 5 years.  It is a Barbados Cherry.    The tree hasn't been repotted in 3 or 4 years.  I had noticed that the tree wasn't growing much.  It seemed healthy but no growth to speak of.   
    I pulled it out of the pot, and sure enough, it was root bound.  The roots were growing round and round, all crunched together.   I cleaned out the soil and loosened the roots.  There were huge, thick roots from the trunk that I needed to trim off,  Then I trimmed some of all the fine roots back to a  reasonable length, allowing for  the ability to absorb water and generate new root hairs.
      In the extra is another bonsai that I have had for about the same time.  It hasn't  been trimmed so the bonsai looks really wild and wholly.   My objective has been to thicken up the trunk.   Tomorrow I will pull it out of it's pot and do the same thing  as I did today to the first bonsai.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.