JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 187: Saskatoons ripening

Saskatoons are (apparently) common wild berries throughout much of North America, but although they are becoming a little better known in the UK, they are still relatively unusual and are barely cultivated commercially. The fruit is quite similar to a blueberry, though I don't think the flavour of mine compares with good blueberries. Unlike blueberries, they are happy with most soil types: our chalk downland is far too alkaline for blueberries. A couple of years ago, two bushes arrived by post, a birthday present from my brother, who had spotted them at a local tree nursery and thought they might be interesting to try. They have very pretty white starry flowers, and the berries ripen to deep purple, if the birds don't eat them first. We've never managed to harvest many, so I've just combined them with other berries in puddings or preserves, but this year I have netted them before they are ripe, so I'm hoping for a few more.

Today I've prepared spring greens for cooking and freezing, blitzed dried parsley for use in stock, made the elderflower cordial and picked a few more strawberries and the first greenhouse tomatoes. However, I have still not cleared the constantly replenished chard heap. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.