JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 186: Chard

Don't view this one full size! Not that you are likely to want to. It's a badly lit late evening photo of part of the big heap of chard in the garden room. I thought I had cleared it, but it has reappeared larger than before. P is clearing an old and overgrown vegetable bed and finding lots of self-seeded chard among the tall weeds and long grass. I am trimming, washing and chopping it. We ate some tonight, but most will be frozen. It's good in blended green soups, which are one of our staples. 

I've also steeped elderflowers and zested and juiced lemons, which will be strained and boiled to make a second batch of cordial tomorrow. There's a big pile of rhubarb waiting too, as well as yesterday's redcurrants to clean and tail. I enjoy this kind of thing, but there are a lot of other pressing jobs at present, so it's hard to decide what to prioritise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.