JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 185: Redcurrants

I don't know how we have such beautiful redcurrants. They are utterly neglected, almost suffocated by long grass and bindweed, unpruned for several years and never watered or fed. This year they have had plenty of rain, so are bigger and juicier than in the past two years. They are the prettiest of berries: I love the way they gleam like jewels in the sunshine. Birds love them, and in the past have sometimes eaten most of the crop before I consider them ripe enough to pick, but the weed growth seems to offer some protection, and a few days ago P threw a bit of netting over them, enough to deter casual thieves, though a committed currant lover could easily find a route under or round it. I was delighted to find so many, and picked during the sunniest part of the day, enjoying the quiet absorption of the task.

Our one small bush yielded two tubs. I will make summer pudding, though the blackcurrants and raspberries with which I will combine them are not yet ready; I can take some of last year's from the freezer, or store the currants till other fruit is ripe. Some will probably go into jam or jelly, because their high pectin content means they are useful to combine with other, harder to set fruits - raspberry and redcurrant is our usual combination, a wonderful jewel red with a bright flavour, and I'm wondering how they would work with rhubarb, because we have huge amounts just now. I find them too sharp to eat as unsweetened berries, but sometimes make simple tarts, spreading them on a thin base of flaky pastry with a sprinkling of sugar and a drizzle of lemon juice. 

Today we have eaten our first few strawberries from the garden, and I've picked elderflowers for a second batch of cordial; P has brought in rhubarb and more self-seeded chard from a vegetable bed he is clearing.

Thank you for all the good wishes. I'm feeling much better today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.