Up Up and Away

A lovely last day of our holidays today. A beautiful sunny day, breakfast on the balcony (again - I know, twice in a week - in Scotland!) a painless trip to the DIY store/shopping/recycling and a lovely lunch.

The highlight of the day though was a cycle ride into Edinburgh along the Union Canal (about 15 miles), where I met Mrs42 who was in indulging in some last minute holiday retail therapy. A great blast, even if it was a little blighted once I'd got into Edinburgh proper by grandparents and prams on the canal path, who couldn't hear my bell.

I spotted this guy flying his model plane just before I got onto the canal path and he graciously did some fly pasts for the camera. What was even funnier was that he was just under the flightpath for Edinburgh airport and planes were coming into land just above him. I wasn't in quite the right spot to get both his plane and a jumbo in the same shot :-)

I've added a whole load of shots from our week in the highlands into a set on flickr starting here. There's a lot though...

I've also put a much smaller selection onto Friday's Glen Einich blip and on Thursday's Steam Diptych blip if you fancy an edited look.

- - - - -

LOTD: The square composition and motion blur in Steini's Chairoplane blip make it a great shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.