Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Soggy Bee

Today was a day of "Heavy Showers and Sunshine", with fingers firmly crossed that it would calm down by the evening when my choir planned to get together for the first time since March 2020 for a social, and perhaps a bit of live singing together (rather than staring at a computor screen on mute over Zoom!).

I managed to get out between showers for some shots of the front garden. The lavender is in full bloom and was teeming with bees, and the smell ....   However my eye was drawn to the rock rose shrub with its bright pink blooms. A bee had its head buried in the centre; it was rather soggy and not moving, but waved one leg in the air when I gently disturbed the stem and when I looked later had gone, so was clearly just resting, drying out and enjoying the nectar!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.