What a beauty

A sunny day today, tho' it's clouding over now - at 4pm. No walk today, just a drive down to get the leaking windscreen fixed on the car - fortunately covered by the guarantee. Our secondhand car dealer is very relaxed about such things - we bought the car last October!

Spent some time this morning sorting photographs of Staffa for the National Trust for Scotland. I think they might use some of them. Did some more gardening this afternoon - maybe I should go back out there for a bit! This shrub on the bank behind the house is a deutzia, though I'm not entirely sure which one. It might be Deutzia scabra 'Candidissima', or maybe 'Plena'. I sent pictures of it to Leeds City Council, who hold the National Collection, but the man in charge is 'currently out of the office' until 13th July. Probably out in the garden! Whichever it is it's a very easy, hardy and decorative shrub. I think I'll take some cuttings later and see if anyone wants one; by that time I might have found out which one it is. I've put a close-up on as an extra, together with plant on the slope below the house, another double deutzia but with much smaller flowers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.