Puma Flypast

Another box I need to work on for the tick - photographing helicopters in flight, in formation. 

I got word that there was going to be a flypast of ten RAF Puma Helicopters, to celebrate their 50 years of service. The weather was variable and better never the Severn, so I took Morrigan down to Aust in the hope of getting a shot of them crossing the bridge. 

Alas, the wharf was closed off for building work, so I returned to the bridge services and walked out onto the bridge, just in time to see them fly over. I didn't get the best shot - I was trying for rotor movement and thus lost sharpness overall. As I say, another box yet to tick.

One of the Pumas, XW224, has had a commemorative respray, with a union flag on its tail, and you might just about see that in Large. You might also note there are only nine - that's all I saw. And then they were gone, following the motorway on their way to Wiltshire.

Ah well, an 'I was there' memory shot. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.