helenann

By helenann

Raindrops on Roses....

But, sorry, no whiskers on kittens. I'll have to leave that to someone else.

The main shows Pretty  Polly, a patio rose, growing  in a pot, which my parents gave me some years ago.
The extra shows the first flower on Mill on the Floss, which is my newest rose. A lovely  patient gave it to me, last September,  on behalf of her family, when I retired as their  optometrist.

Late this evening, we went out with a couple of  friends in search of  bats and glow worms to a grassy open space near us. I blipped it at dawn in May Whiteshute Ridge

We used a bat detector to identify a few Pipistrelle bats flying over the hedges in pursuit of moths, and  our own eyes to find seven female glow worms glowing in the dark, in their attempt  to attract the winged male glow worms to them. We found them in  vegetation close to the  wire fence, in my earlier photo.
(I didn't want to disturb the ladies by taking flash  photos, so you have roses instead.) 
   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.