Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Fancy Pants

These tiny bees are commonly called Metallic Green Sweat Bees and they are common throughout most of the N. American continent.  They are actually Halictid Bees in the genus Agapostemon. but I could not say with any certainty what species this one is.  What I can say is that it is less than 1/4 inch (a smidge over 1/2 cm) - very tiny.  So focusing had to be left to the lens since my eye certainly lacks the ability to see something this small with any clarity.  And I was totally thrilled when I saw the image on screen and saw all the tiny pollen balls on it.  Some bees gather pollen in "sacks" on their rear legs and others, like halictids, gather pollen by vibrating their bodies against the stamens of flowers, allowing the pollen to stick to the fine hairs on their thorax and abdomen (and even faces, as seen here).  I wish the face was in better focus.

A lazy day.  It was already wicked-hot when I got up this morning with nary a breeze to be felt, so I opted out of kayaking.  Instead, I took quick trips into the garden, and spent some time with my digger wasps on the walkway (Hubs shudders in horror).  Fatigue came to visit in the afternoon so I lay down for a while - didn't sleep but just rested which seems to be what my body needs right now.  

I spent some very enjoyable time reading all of the lovely comments on yesterday's 10-year blip.  Thank you all so very much

Tomorrow morning Hubs and I have a routine visit with our dermatologist - I'm hoping he can suggest some additional things I can do to help my radiated skin heal.  It's gotten so much better and barely bothers me at all now, but still looks pretty unsightly.  Battle scars.

Dark chocolate with sea salt today.  

xo
Debbi 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.