SWALLOW NURSERY

I made a quick visit to the clifftop cemetery between shopping errands and was delighted to find a swallow nursery there. Half a dozen of the old gravestones had single or pairs of (extra) young swallows perched on them, waiting for adults to come by with food. The cemetery is quite a distance from any buildings where the nests could have been, so the youngsters must have been brought there by the parents, and told(!?) to sit and wait - they didn't seem very nervous about my presence. By the time I'd walked around the perimeter paths they'd all disappeared so I guess I arrived at the right time.

I'd hoped to get my new camera today (as per an email yesterday), but it seems to have just arrived at Stansted and today's date has disappeared from the tracking information, so fingers crossed for tomorrow.  I thought I was ordering it from a camera business in London, but apparently it's been flown from New Jersey. So much for trying to shop responsibly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.