Aftermath of Hurricane.....

The skies finally cleared today.   I was very excited to get out and get some exercise.  I  could tell I was getting villa bound!     Once the roads dried up some (which doesn't take long in Florida) the girls got a good walk and then I jumped on Silver.   It felt so good to use my muscles and get  moving!
     As I went around I found signs of the weather event:
Top Left:  One of the 15 t0 20 Generac Generators that kicked in automatically when power went out.   The generators keep all of the lift stations operational for OTOW.  They are located through out the 15,000 homes  here, they are huge, probably 1 1/2 times taller than I am.   
Bottom Left: one of the many retention ponds to collect the rain runoff from the streets, flat areas, and low areas. Then the water percolates down through the sand to the aquifers .

Bottom Right:  One of the street runoff pipes didn't get cleaned this year.  After the storm, crews were sent out to make sure that any drainage pipes that needed clearing, got cleared.   This drainage grate  from the street .drains the water went into the pond.   Then the pond naturally drained the surface water down through the sand (ground) and into the aquifers.

Upper Right:   when we had strong guts of wind, apparently a tree fell and damaged the propane gas lines underground.  (the roots broke some connections)I   don't know when or how the leak was found, but the crews were immediately dispatched to repair the leak.   I discovered the problem when I was out riding.  The road was closed off and I had to go around the area.  It is a fine example of the unsung heroes here that keep the community safe and running smoothly.
         It was wonderful to get out and to ride. Now, I am ready for bed and a good night's sleep, after I finish posting this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.