Hydra, day 1

Up early to pack and to get to the port for the ferry, arrived early. An almost full ferry, and a smooth trip. I headed to my pension which was on the edge of the more densely populated village. Check in was so informal, I think it was the parents who took me to my room, and a nice room with a good bed, and a view to the hills, overlooking the football ground. More open, more breeze. Hydra was busy, but not crowded. I wandered around, looked at the shops then took the path to a pebbled beach. Not so easy on the feet but lovely to swim in the clear waters.
Dinner was Italian - nice to have a change, great main course but they couldn’t get the tiramisu right. A lovely rose; there were some jaw droppingly expensive wines on the list. The picture is of the church was next to the restaurant - it was a place of similar bell towers.
A short walk and back to my hot room - thank goodness for AC - but I’d hoped to sleep with windows and shutters open, it seems safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.