Eroding Sandstone

A corner of our building. There is a tendency for a corner stone in this position to erode more than others.

As the stonemason sagely remarked. "It has taken 180 years to reach this stage. I can confidently predict it will not to be replaced or repaired in your lifetime".

Stone buildings of this vintage tend to be very accurately. Certainly more so than many new buildings.

In terms of level, heights and square, this building is accurate to within 3mm.

Apart from one cast iron column which is 2 inches or 50mm.

A mistake or could it be that the builders believed only God does perfection.

How do I know about the accuracy of these dimensions? I surveyed the building forty years ago.

I like construction to be accurate and there is no reason why it should not be if the builder desires it.

I have spent the morning cutting grass and plan to watch the Wimbledon Gentlemen semi finals. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.