Wonderland

The newly risen sun was blanketing the land in an orange glow though I might have woken up to a Disney extravaganza in Snow White or Shrek with the amount of woodland animals bounding round the garden early this morning. It really was like wonderland!

We had baby bunnies nibbling on the new grass shoots, the starlings were flocking in to the feeder  whilst the roe deer were wading through the grasses in the field feeding as they went. The blackbirds were both armed with beakfuls of grubs for their second brood and the young robin was standing looking expectant but forlorn waiting for me to top up the bird table. The greenfinches, great tits and blue tits were diving in and out of view and our seven wild adopted ducks were feeding, preening and bathing in the little pond - always on the lookout.

My camera gear wasn't set up to hand as I'd been skulking last night 'shooting'  foxes from my hide which I'd put up by the house, along with the light to make it a bit easier. I still have a long way to go with that scenario.

In the end I managed this shot of our roe deer buck from upstairs inside the bedroom through the balcony railings. Tricky with the ducks watching every movement but successful in that they didn't spook him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.