Beinghere

By Beinghere

Shell Beach

There`s a small beach between Anstruther and Pittenweem which is always covered in small clam shells, so people who pass this way like to write their names on the rocks using the shells.

I phoned Janice to see if she wanted to go for a walk, but she had other plans.  She told me about her trip to the Isle of May yesterday.  It sounded wonderful.  On the boat on the way out they saw dolphins and the Sei Whale that has been in the Firth of Forth for a few months now.  That alone, was a treat, yet they still had to land and see all the guillemots, terns, razorbills and, of course, puffins.  I was really envious.  I haven`t been to the island for five years.  It used to be the highlight of my summer.

We were going to have a really quiet day with little walking, but we ended up walking four and a half miles.  It was a grey day, overcast, but dry and very warm at times.  We walked through the town, heading East, along the golf course, down by the Billowness and on into Anstruther.  I had a prescription to pick up, so duly did that, then checked out the harbour.  The town was busy with visitors.  The pavement cafes were all full, so we turned around and headed home again, by the country tracks this time.  I was pretty tired after a busy week, so was happy to get home and put my feet up.
Extra of the Dreel Burn at Anstruther.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.