fotoday

By fotoday

Flying Squirrel

On the negative side the squirrels in my garden try to eat everything that is out for the birds and they dig holes in my lawn however they also give amusement. The main amusement is how they overcome the obstructions I try to put in there way. As Lesley says, they only see you as a challenge and win every time !
The best attempt I have made by far has been the investment in a "squirrel buster" feeder made some years ago and has proved more effective than anything else. It works with the outer case on a spring so when something heavy (squirrel) hangs on it the feeding holes are closed. Ingenious but if the squirrel hangs off it and shakes it as much as possible some seeds fall out and can be eaten off the floor. It took him a while to work that one out and it has been made harder for him as I have moved where it hangs lower and further away from anything else. Today he cracked the problem, he has now perfected the jump from the free trunk (out of photo to the left) to the feeder just seen on the right. He sings, twist turns then falls to the ground for a nice meal. At this point I give up and say well done, I enjoy watching the incredible leap !  I also enjoy watching the young squirrels trying to follow and falling well short.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.