The Old Butchers

Across the road from where I took the picture yesterday, and slightly closer to the centre, I have come to the Old Butchers. Again now an estate agent.

I first came to Twyford in 1996, and I notice I bought my apartment in July 1996, so almost exactly 25 years ago. Although the buildings are mostly unchanged, very few of the shops are the same.

This shop was still a butcher in 1996 as far as I remember. I was intrigued that meat would be hung from hooks outside the shop, right next to the road. (This practice had stopped some time before my arrival). Although the purpose of the shop has changed the hooks remain.

I only lived here for a short time, and I don't remember when the butcher closed. I expect closure followed the opening of Waitrose a short distance away. I seem to recall several shops closed as a result of Waitrose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.