Wagon and Horses

Twyford was on the drovers route from the West Country to London. There would also have been many wagons and coaches passing through. In its name this pub looks back to the good old days of horse drawn transport.

I have been to the pub, but it is on the far west of the village so maybe only infrequently. I did think it was perhaps the oldest pub in the village, but there is another which may be older. I think I did ask here which was older and I think they claim the honour.

On the way I passed a (presumably old) milestone. It is difficult to read but I think it read 72 miles to Bath. I had never noticed it previously though I must have passed it many times.

Not far from here Whitbread had a stable for Dray horses. It was open to the public so I made a visit one time. The weather was not great but we were able to get a ride on a horse drawn wagon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.