JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 189: stripes refracted

I'm posting this very late as a result of a busy evening on Thursday followed by frustrating computer problems which prevented me from posting anything on Friday or for most of Saturday. On Thursday afternoon, for Abstract Thursday's water theme, I had fun playing with refraction. I struggled with lighting - it proved difficult to avoid unwanted reflections - and discovered too late that I really should polish my glassware better, and probably not put my glasses in the dishwasher if they are likely to be used for photography, but the various shaped water filled containers gave a pleasing variety of distortions. The background is one of my daughter J's Bridget Riley inspired stripe paintings, done after we visited the excellent exhibition at the Hayward Gallery in January 2020, which I have blipped about before here. It was executed with the aid of lots of masking tape, patiently applied by her wonderful PA, and painted hand over hand to J's design.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.