JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 190: Nipplewort

I didn't know this tall, yellow-flowered weed which has seeded all around the margins of the garden rejoices in the name of Nipplewort. I thought I knew a lot of wild flowers, having been brought up with Sunday afternoon nature walks, but Wildflower Weeks are proving more educational than I expected, as I don't feel I can post something without at least attempting to identify it. Keble Martin has not been off the shelf so often in years, and I always enjoy looking at his beautiful watercolour illustrations. This plant is not spectacular, with fairly small flowers relative to its height, but insects clearly love it: almost every shot came with a bonus hoverfly, fly or bug. 

Thank you Miranda for hosting the Wildflower Weeks, and to Biker Bear for Flower Fridays: I enjoy both a lot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.