fototherapy

By GirlKojak

Treasures of the Sea II

The only problem with looking for sea glass...is that you never look up. You never see the view. You never see the houses or the ocean, because you're afraid you'll miss something in the sand.

(Anita Shreve, Sea Glass)


I've blipped some of my treasures before. I have three or four little dishes of sea glass dotted around the house. I love how they light up when the sun shines on them. They are never quite so beautiful as when they are wet, though. I've photographed them here on a mirror tile, hence the reflections.

I love how the sea takes broken glass - essentially rubbish - and over time knocks off the sharp, jagged edges and turns it into something perfectly smooth and wonderfully tactile. The symbolism of this is very significant to me, which is perhaps why I'm quite so obsessed with it. As I recall it is an important image of the book quoted above (which I read purely because of the title!) and also this quite obscure song of the same name. There is perhaps a lesson I should learn from the quote, though. It is good to take time to appreciate the little things in life, but I think I have a tendency to focus on them too much, and end up missing the big picture at times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.