Beewriter

By Beewriter

5 o’ clock shadow

I was up, dressed and out of the house by 6:50am. I drove down to Henley-on-Thames to swim the Henley mile. At that time in the morning the roads were empty and I made great time. All was good until the effing effing effing satnav decided the last few miles were best down a road that led to a single track…a single track road where a bike race was coming up it and I had to pass two cars. I thought I was going to end up in a field but thank goodness I did get to Temple Meadows. It took just under three hours.

I registered and then walked along to the start. It wasn’t a big start with us all in the water together, instead we entered one at a time and just swam. Our time chips started as we passed the electronic pad. I took 48mins 30 seconds, but as I went over the pad and then waited for a woman in front of me I can probably knock a minute off lol. I’m not fast but it was my best time this year.

The swim was great and I really enjoyed it. I had a wander round all the stalls and then I set off to call at Rachel’s. Thank the lord the effing satnav took me through Henley and not down some cycle track. I had a cuppa and a sandwich with Rachel and then drove home in just under three hours.

I stopped at Jude’s for a cuppa on the way home. It wasn’t until I got home and looked in the mirror that I saw my mucky face. I was covered in muck from the Thames. I looked like I had a five o’ clock shadow lol.

Now I am watching a film, not the football, and I am shattered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.