Marionb

By Marionb

More of My Favourite Things...

Having not strayed too far from my house and garden this past week, I have been been poking around in my "stuff", not really looking to weed things out, but to remind myself of what is special and why I have it. 

I have a house full of books. Why? Because I like to read and there is something about being surrounded by books that I find comforting. I was brought up with a love of books. We always had books in our house. We grew up with all the usual childhood classics. My mom was an avid reader as was her mom - my grandmother - my namesake. 

Grandma used to give me books for my birthday and for special occasions, usually the classics..often leather bound with gilt edges by authors she loved - Dickens, Austen, Bronte, Shakespeare...and Robert Burns!  She loved Robert Burns.. There was definitely an intent there to instil a love of reading but also to offer an "approved" reading list! No Nancy Drew books from Grandma - we got those at the library or from Mom and Dad! 

My sister is also a lover of books, especially ones with family connections, and in the ones that fell into our possession are some little treasures. Some have inscriptions to and from names we do or do not recognize and some include dates, which is of interest as the book's publishing date is often not evident. I have featured two of those lovely old books in the extras - they each have  handwritten inscriptions..one dated 1882, and one 1894, and they look as if they were well-loved and often read. I love that they have illustrations and I marvel that people were actually able to read that tiny print! 

I do collect things, but I would not call my books a "collection".. These old books passed down to me are special - they hold memories and are a connection to the past, to our family history; Most of the  books that line my shelves are hobby reference books, art books, novels, biographies etc..and are disposable. They will be weeded out and donated one day ..but not these old ones...they are keepers...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.