Liu After Liu

On This Day In History
1389: Geoffrey Chaucer is named chief clerk by Richard II

Quote Of The Day
"I will eviscerate you in fiction. Every pimple, every character flaw. I was naked for a day; you will be naked for eternity."
(Geoffrey Chaucer)

Sunshine, showers and thunderstorms. A good day for reading. 
Having finished Cixin Liu's short story collection, The Wandering Earth, I'm now reading Ken Liu's short story collection, The Hidden Girl.
While Ken Liu's writing doesn't have the WOW!! impact of Cixin Liu, he is more consistent in quality. Richer in symbolism and metaphor, deeper in emotional impact, Ken Liu's work is more deeply satisfying to me. 

From this book I learned that Ken Liu has already finished writing the third book of the Dandelion Trilogy, The Veiled Throne. Apparently, it was to be published in 2020 but the publisher decided to delay the release in light of the pandemic. I'm not sure of the reasoning behind that since book sales rocketed when the pandemic struck. Anyway, The Veiled Throne will be released on November 21. I am on tenterhooks; the Dandelion Trilogy is one of the greatest fantasy stories I have ever read, and a brilliant introduction for Western readers to Chinese mythology. A highly recommended series.

Other news: my daughter saw from our balcony window a building get struck by lightning. When my son came home from school, he told us that his school gym had been struck by lightning while he was in it and the gym shuddered in what felt like a magnitude five earthquake.

The Hidden Man

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.