Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Landmark

A rare (in these times) excursion across the Pennines into Lancashire saw me head over to Clitheroe.  

I chose the quiet rural route - train to Skipton and then bus across - over the rail route which is a long way around through various urban centres.  I’m not sure I’ll be as relaxed about longer distance public transport when the Covid restrictions are lifted next week.

I’d probably been through Clitheroe in my Lancaster years, it looks like the sort of place for a chip stop shop after a day’s orienteering or conservation volunteering, but I didn’t really recognise anything in the town. Pendle Hill is a very familiar landmark though, and it dominates the surrounding skyline, as in this view from up near the castle.

In the middle left you’ll spy the outline of a football ground, and I spent a couple of hours at Clitheroe FC where they were hosting a youthful Chester FC XI in a pre-season friendly (extra). Clitheroe were very much on top in the first half but the visitors defended resolutely and started to grow in confidence, particularly on the counter attack. A single goal for Chester in the second half was enough to win the game.

I had a couple of hours to explore the town after the game, enough time to wander up to the castle, gather a few shop front mosaics (e.g. extra) and other urban curiosities. And I put a little back into the local arts economy in a local craft gallery near the Interchange while waiting for my bus back.

For those that haven’t yet included Clitheroe on their travels I’d recommend a visit. I didn’t get to explore down by the riverside but I will save that for a return visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.