Spider's web in the drizzle

As I was locking the front door at 8-15 this morning on the way to driving Helena to her work, I heard her telling me to 'look at this'. When I got to the corner of the house she pointed at this spider in its web. The web is strung from the house to the coal bunker, a matter of about five feet. You might just be able to see the main strand from which the whole thing hangs. What astonishing engineering!

It had been drizzling this morning and possible all night. The birds had been desperate for food flocking madly around the empty suet and sunflower feeders at different spots in the rear garden, which I then filled before my driving job for Helena.

The spider is very similar to my blip last week of newly hatched eggs and about 4mm in diameter. But I think this spider was in a separate cluster of eggs in the front garden that I spotted a couple of weeks ago.

I'm always amazed by spiders' webs and this looked particularly stunning with the droplets showing the network of the web so clearly. On my return I grabbed a few pictures as I was worried the strengthening wind would destroy it. An hour later and it had.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.