Lilies are out

I got a few lilies in the autumn so it’s a nice surprise to see what they are like when they appear.

We were late to bed, like most of England, having watched the football final to the bitter end of the dreaded penalty shoot-out. The three young black lads who missed their shots are getting terrible racist abuse from the so-called “fans”. Their attitude is abhorrent but hardly surprising when both the PM and Home Secretary objected to the team taking the knee before their matches. This abuse just highlights why taking the knee is so necessary. They all did really well but Italy was the better team and deserved to win.

I was back at the physio for 9.30am for him to try to fix my back in readiness for the next stage of the Dales Way, planned for Thursday. The treatment is extremely painful and quite exhausting. I’m carrying on with the exercises of course and have another to do before I exit the car after a long drive.

I called on Shona on the way back to return some books and put the country to rights.

This afternoon we potted up the plants I got last week then I finished one front of the cotton coat while Mr C netted the gooseberries and blackcurrants. They might be ready before we go away in August.

Tonight we are going to Chris’s to eat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.