SamAgainPlease

By SamAgainPlease

Northern Suburbs Memorial Gardens and Crematorium

Today, I accompanied my partner and her mother to say "Farewell and Thanks" to an old family friend of theirs - someone who had been in my mother-in-law's life since about age 20 and, therefore, the whole of my partner's life.  I felt like a bit of a ring-in as I did not know her that well and, with current restrictions, funerals are limited to 10 people.

My mother-in-law, who is struggling with her own aging issues, now has no peers or family of her generation left (at least none who she still has regular contact with).  I'm not sure what's better - to be the first to go or the last.... probably somewhere in between.

It reminded me of a conversation I was part of on Saturday when I went to visit my mum (88) and dad (90).  With a sigh, Mum said something like "I'm sick of this getting old malarkey - I wouldn't mind it ending now - don't you think Michael?".  To which he replied, after pausing "No, not yet, I'm still enjoying it really."  She finds it hard to stand up let alone walk whereas he's advocating for the rights of (and finances of) the 100+ residents of the retirement village they live in (in between golf twice a week).  Says it all really.  Mum's still got most of her marbles, and still reads with no specs, but it's hard for someone who used to walk and travel a lot and spend hours in the garden.

I guess as long as you've got your health, the ability to do the things you love and/or a purpose in life, then it's okay.

I must look at losing some weight - I'm finding it difficult to lie on the ground and climb up walls - things necessary to get the photos I like.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.