SamAgainPlease

By SamAgainPlease

Lonely bus stop

When I was a young man I was in the habit of going out late at night and taking photos of car light trails.  I took them from footbridges and overpasses.  Some of my earlier attempts are on Flickr but I'm yet to give the negatives the proper treatment.

Anyway... with a standard (D)SLR this is not possible anymore in Sydney (and perhaps nowhere in Australia) as all our bridges are now "caged" (not just 3m fences but full cages with only enough of a whole in the mesh to drop a small rock).  I guess this is to stop people (kids?) dropping things on passing cars - perhaps it's to stop people throwing themselves off (although I've never known this to happen) or falling off (again unlikely) or even perhaps to grease the palms of politicians engaging cage builder mates (I'm clutching at straws now).

So, I went out last night, close to midnight, braving the delta variant and potentially vigilant lockdown police, to one of the more remote and "miss-able" footbridges I know of - no luck I'm afraid - encased 100%.

I made do by walking down the road to this fairly remote bus stop lit by a single street light on a lonely road (although not that lonely in peak hour).  Much to my surprise it still has a circular 1990s (80s?) bus stop and minimal graffiti it seems.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.